Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.

Cabo de Gata-Níjar: why visit this natural park?

The natural park of Cabo deGata-Níjar is located in Andalusia east of Almeria. It is a natural reserve, classified by UNESCO, which occupies 38,000 hectares of land and 12,000 hectares of sea.

As soon as we arrived in the park, we were immediately seduced by the beauty of the arid landscapes, surrounded by mountains which shelter some small villages with whitewashed houses, typical of Andalusia.

This park was recommended to us by an Italian couple who regularly come here to enjoy its beautiful beaches, indeed here, the Mediterranean coast, completely wild, is sublime. The beaches and small coves are bordered by crystal clear water.

We share with you, below, how to get to Cabo de Gato-Níjar and what to do and see in the park. We have also grouped all our good addresses on our map at the end of the article.

Where is Cabo de Gata located?

Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park is located in Andalusia, 30 minutes east of Almeria, in one of the sunniest regions of Europe.

This park is one of the few areas on the Mediterranean coast that has remained untouched, and one can imagine that the area must have been incredibly beautiful before the construction of all the coastal cities. With about 50,000 hectares of protected area, it is the largest natural park in the country, both on land and at sea.

What to do and see in Cabo de Gata-Níjar?

We recommend that you spend at least a day or two exploring this park.

➡️Si you have only 1 day concentrate on the points of interest around the village of San Jose, this area offers beautiful hiking trails and the most beautiful beaches. You can also enjoy water activities such as diving, boat or canoe tours. You can also explore the salt marshes right next door.

➡️Si you have two days on the spot, you can add the villages of Nijar and Rodalquilar.

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Paradise beaches

The park is best known for its incredible beaches. Indeed, there is level, fine sandy beaches, crystal clear water, in an environment with the appearance of a desert, in short a guaranteed change of scenery.

We had planned to spend the morning at Mónsul beach, unfortunately when we arrived at 10am on the first weekend of September, it was no longer accessible, as the number of parking spaces is limited in order to regulate access to the beach. Once the parking lot is full, access is only possible on foot or by bus.

So we stopped just before at the beach of Los Genoveses, which looks like the beach of Mónsul and is therefore just as beautiful. It is directly included in our ranking of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The water was 27 degrees (yes we had taken the thermometer of our daughter’s bath to check), a real happiness to swim such a setting.

It’s a big beach so even in September we didn’t feel crowded (parking 5€ a day).

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Picturesque villages

  • Níjar Níjar: perched high up on the edge of the park, this is a typical Andalusian village with small whitewashed houses. We loved walking through the small white streets around the main square, Plaza la Glorieta. Here the cactus is king, each house has its decorated pot hosting a small plant. We had a lot of fun photographing them.

    We took the opportunity to get some information about the park at thetourist office, located next to the church. Small anecdote, the person recommended us a wild beach in the north of the park with a view on the Lafarge factory, thank you no thank you, always think to check the information even when they seem reliable… The village is famous for its ceramics, many stores (a little too touristy for our taste) sell pottery from the region.
  • San José: is an old fishing village, its location is ideal, because just next to the beach of Los Genovese, a hiking trail along the coastline can reach the beach of Los Genovese and then that of Mónsul . This is where most of the hotels and guesthouses are located, as well as bars and restaurants.
  • Rodalquilar : this small village is not located on the coast, but in the heart of the valley, surrounded by mountains, which gives it a small air of end of the world.

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Salt marshes

We stopped in the village of Cabo de Gata to explore the salt marshes. As the site is still in use, it is not possible to enter. We walked along the salt water, small observatories have been installed to observe flamingos in the distance, we advise you to come with your binoculars.

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Shooting locations

A bit of culture, while looking for information on the park we read that many movies were shot in this incredible setting, including of course westerns. Here are a few that we have noted below:

  • Monsul Beach: scenes shot for Indiana Jones and the last crusade of Steven Spielberg
  • Playa de las Salinas : scenes shot for the series Casa del Papel (Netflix series)
  • Village Los Albaricoques (at the gates of the national park), it is an open-air museum since the locations of the scenes are indicated with explanatory panels with photos of shooting of the following films: For a Fistful of Dollars and And for a few dollars more with Clint Eastwood

Water activities to do in the park

Of course, there are a lot of water activities to do in this natural park, you can explore the coast and the sea bed by boat or canoe. You’ll find plenty of ideas on the GetyourGuide website, which we recommend you take a look at!

Don’t forget to read the description carefully, so that you know what is really included to fully enjoy your excursion.

How to get there?

By car

To explore the natural park of Cabo de Gata- Níjar we advise you to rent a car in order to stop at the different points of interest.

The highway that connects the city ofAlmeria to the natural park of Cabo de Gata, in 30 minutes, is in very good condition. As explained below, the view is a bit spoiled by the thousands of greenhouses.

Once in the park, the greenhouses disappear, giving way to beautiful desert landscapes and the coastal road offers nice views of the beaches and coves along the coast.

Car rental: To compare the prices of car rentals, we recommend the site RentalCars which compares the prices of hundreds of car rental companies to find the best price. Count about 40€ per day in September.

Excursion from Almeria, or Aguadulce

From Almeria or Aguadulce, you can book your tickets for a day with transportation and several stops in the different points of interest of the park and a free time during which you can swim.

Where to sleep?

There are few housing options in the park. We advise you to book your accommodation as early as possible in order to have the widest choice and the best hotels. The village of San Jose is a nice place to stay, to fully enjoy the atmosphere of the park or in Almeria at 30 minutes by car.

➡️Notre favorite: Doña Pakyta, in San José, a small hotel ideally located, with direct access to a small beach and 2 minutes from restaurants (with parking).

➡️Avec swimming pool: Cortijo El Sotillo, in San José, just outside town, a magnificent location in the heart of nature, with a lovely swimming pool.

Our map of Cabo de Gata-Níjar

A special environment

We will not hide it from you, we were surprised by theenvironment around this natural park. From Almeria, we crossed several kilometers of farmland covered with plastic sheeting, which completely distorts the landscape.

After reading some articles, it turns out that the region lives mainly from intensive agriculture and that it feeds a large part of Europe. With 35,000 hectares, it is today the largest expanse of greenhouses in the world, its little nickname:“The sea of plastic“, that means everything. There you go, don’t look any further for the origin of the winter tomatoes sold for a few euros in our supermarkets.

This trip allowed us to become aware of certain aberrations of our society. And makes us want more than ever to continue to consume locally (even if it has a higher cost) and to learn as much as possible about the origin of the products on our plate.

The other point is that we discovered that a cement factory was implemented in the north of the park next to the Playa de los Muertos, you remember this beach recommended by the tourist office!

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

We loved our stay in this beautiful natural park, it is one of our favorite places on the Spanish coast.

Feel free to drop us a line below to let us know if you’re planning this trip, to drop 5 stars, to ask any questions you may have here or on our Instagram we’ll get back to you with great pleasure!

Donnez une note à cet article :
1 avis (5/5)
Partagez notre article
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
WhatsApp
Picture of Floriane
Floriane
My name is Floriane, and I've been an adventurer and travel enthusiast since I was very young. More than anything, I love sharing our travel stories and tips with you. We love short getaways as well as long trips. This blog was born after our backpacking trip around the world. We also went on a family tour of Europe.
Nos articles complémentaires

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.
Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

Visiter Cabo de Gata-Níjar : nos conseils et informations pratiques

Le parc naturel de Cabo de GataNíjar est situé en Andalousie à l’est d’Alméria. C’est une réserve naturelle, classée à l’UNESCO, qui occupe 38 000 hectares terrestres et 12 000 hectares maritime.

Dés notre arrivée dans le parc, nous avons tout de suite été séduits par la beauté des paysages arides, entourés de montagnes qui abritent quelques petits villages aux maisons blanchies à la chaux, typique de l’Andalousie.

Ce parc nous a été recommandé par un couple d’Italien qui y vient régulièrement pour profiter de ses belles plages, effectivement ici, la côte méditerranéenne, complètement sauvage, est sublime. Les plages et petites criques sont bordées par une eau cristalline.

Nous vous partageons, ci-dessous, comment aller à Cabo de Gato-Níjar et que faire et que voir dans le parc. Nous avons également regroupé toutes nos bonnes adresses sur notre carte en fin d’article.

Où se situe Cabo de Gata ?

Cabo de Gata-Níjar est situé en Andalousie à 30 minutes à l’est d’Alméria, dans l’une des régions les plus ensoleillées d’Europe.

Ce parc est l’un des rares espaces de côte méditerranéenne espagnole resté vierge, on imagine que la région devait être incroyablement belle avant la construction de toutes les villes balnéaires. Avec environ 50 000 hectares de zone protégée, c’est le plus grand parc naturel maritime et terrestre du pays.

Que faire et voir à Cabo de Gata ?

Nous vous conseillons de consacrer une journée ou deux à l’exploration de ce parc.

➡️ Si vous avez 1 seule journée concentrez vous sur les points d’intérêts autour du village de San José, ce secteur offre de beaux sentiers de randonnée et les plus belles plages. Vous pourrez également faire des activités nautiques comme de la plongée, un tour en bateau ou en canoë. Vous pouvez également explorer les marais salants juste à côté.

➡️ Si vous avez deux jours sur place, vous pouvez ajouter les villages de Nijar et de Rodalquilar.

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Les plages paradisiaques

Le parc est surtout connu pour abriter des plages incroyables. Effectivement, il y a du niveau, des plages de sable fin, une eau cristalline, dans un environnement aux allures de désert, bref un dépaysement garanti.

Nous avions prévu de passer la matinée à la plage de Mónsul, malheureusement en arrivant à 10h le premier week-end de septembre, elle n’était plus accessible, car le nombre de place de parking est limité afin de réguler l’accès à la plage. Une fois le parking rempli, l’accès est possible seulement à pied ou en bus.

Nous nous sommes donc arrêtés juste avant à la plage de Los Genoveses, qui ressemble à la plage de Mónsul et donc qui est tout autant magnifique. Elle rentre directement dans notre classement des plus belles plages du monde. L’eau était à 27 degrés (oui nous avions emporté le thermomètre du bain de notre fille pour vérifier), un vrai bonheur de nager dans un tel décor.

C’est une grande plage donc même en septembre nous ne nous sentions pas serrés comme des sardines (parking 5€ la journée).

Villages pittoresques

  • Níjar : perché sur les hauteurs, aux portes du parc, c’est un village typique de l’Andalousie avec ses petites maisons blanchies à la chaux. Nous avons adoré arpenter les petites ruelles blanches autour de la Plaza la Glorieta. Ici le cactus est roi, chaque maison possède son pot décoré accueillant une petite plante. Nous nous sommes bien amusés à les photographier.

    Nous en avons profité pour récupérer quelques informations sur le parc à l’office de tourisme, situé à côté de l’église. Petit anecdote, la personne nous a recommandé une plage sauvage au nord du parc avec vue sur l’usine Lafarge, merci non merci, pensez toujours à vérifier les informations même quand elles semblent fiables… Le village est réputé pour sa céramique, de nombreuses boutiques (un peu trop touristique à notre goût) vendent des poteries de la région.
  • San José: est un ancien village de pécheur, sa localisation est idéale, car juste à côté de la plage de los Genovese, un chemin de randonnée longeant le littoral permet de rejoindre la plage de Los Genovese puis celle de Mónsul. C’est ici que se trouve la plupart des hôtels ou chambre d’hôtes ainsi que les bars et restaurants.
  • Rodalquilar : ce petit village n’est pas situé sur le littoral, mais au cœur de la vallée, entouré de montagnes, ce qui lui donne un petit air de bout du monde.
Cabo de Gata-Nijar
Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Les marais salants

Nous nous sommes arrêtés au village de Cabo de Gata pour explorer les marais salants. Comme le site est encore exploité, ce n’est pas possible d’y rentrer. Nous avons longé l’étendue d’eau salée, des petits observatoires ont été installés pour y observer au loin des flamants roses, nous vous conseillons de venir avec vos jumelles.

Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Lieux de tournage

Un peu de culture, en cherchant des informations sur le parc nous avons lu que de nombreux films ont été tournés dans ce décor incroyable, dont évidement des westerns. En voici quelques-uns que nous avons notés ci-dessous :

  • Plage Monsul : scènes tournées pour Indiana Jones et la dernière croisade de Steven Spielberg
  • Playa de las Salinas : scènes tournées pour la série Casa del Papel (série Netflix)
  • Village Los Albaricoques (aux portes du parc national), c’est un musée à ciel ouvert puisque les emplacements des scènes sont indiqués avec des panneaux explicatifs avec des photos de tournages des films suivants : Pour une poignée de Dollards et Et pour quelques dollars de plus avec Clint Eastwood

Comment y aller ?

En voiture

Pour explorer le parc naturel de Cabo de GataNíjar nous vous conseillons de louer une voiture (Comptez environ 40€ par jour en septembre) afin de pouvoir vous arrêter aux différents points d’intérêt.

L’autoroute qui permet de relier la ville d’Alméria au parc naturel de Cabo de Gata, en 30 minutes, est en très bon état. Comme expliqué plus bas, la vue est un peu gâchée par les milliers de serres.

Puis une fois dans le parc, les serres disparaissent, pour laisser place aux paysages désertiques magnifiques et la route côtière offre de jolis points de vue sur les plages et criques qui jalonnent la côte.

Faire une excursion depuis Alméria, ou Aguadulce

Depuis Alméria ou Aguadulce, vous pouvez réserver vos billets pour une journée avec transport et plusieurs arrêts dans les différents points d’intérêt du parc et un temps libre pendant lequel vous pourrez vous baigner.

Où dormir ?

Il y a peu d’options de logement dans le parc. Nous vous conseillons de réserver le plus en avance possible vos hébergements afin de pouvoir avoir le plus grand choix et les meilleurs hôtels. Le village de San-José est un beau point de chute, pour profiter pleinement de l’atmosphère du parc ou à Almeria à 30 minutes en voiture.

Notre coup de cœur : Doña Pakyta, à San José, petit hôtel idéalement situé, avec accès direct à une petite plage et à 2 minutes des restaurants (avec parking).

Avec piscine : Cortijo El Sotillo, à San José, à l’extérieur de la ville, l’emplacement est magnifique, en pleine nature, et l’hôtel est doté d’une jolie piscine

Notre carte de Cabo de Gata-Níjar

Un environnement particulier

Nous n’allons pas vous le cacher, nous avons été surpris par l’environnement autour de ce parc naturel. Depuis Alméria, nous avons traversé plusieurs kilomètres de terres agricoles recouvertes de bâches plastiques, qui dénaturent complètement le paysage.

Après lectures de quelques articles, il s’avère que la région vit principalement de l’agriculture intensive et qu’elle nourrit une grande partie de l’Europe. Avec 35 000 hectares, c’est aujourd’hui la plus grande étendue de serres au monde, son petit surnom : « La mer de plastique« , ça veut tout dire. Voilà ne cherchez plus d’où proviennent les tomates en hiver vendues quelques euros dans nos supermarchés.

Ce voyage nous a permis de prendre conscience de certaines aberrations de notre société. Et nous donne plus que jamais envie de continuer à consommer localement (même si cela a un coût plus élevé) et de se renseigner le plus possible, sur l’origine des produits présents dans notre assiette.

L’autre point c’est que nous avons découvert qu’une usine de ciment était implémentée au nord du parc à côté de la Playa de los Muertos, vous vous souvenez cette plage recommandée par l’office du tourisme !

Cabo de Gata-Nijar
Cabo de Gata-Nijar

Nous avons tout de même adoré notre séjour dans ce magnifique parc naturel, c’est tout de même l’un de nos endroits préférés sur la côte espagnole.

N’hésitez pas à nous laisser un petit mot ci-dessous pour nous dire si vos prévoyez ce voyage, à déposer 5 étoiles, à poser toutes vos questions ici ou sur notre Instagram nous vous répondrons avec grand plaisir !

Donnez une note à cet article :
18 avis (5/5)
Partagez notre article
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
WhatsApp
Picture of Floriane
Floriane
Je m'appelle Floriane, aventurière et passionnée de voyages depuis mon plus jeune âge. J'aime plus que tout partager nos récits et astuces de voyage avec vous. Nous aimons les escapades courtes ainsi que les voyages longs. Ce blog est né après notre Tour du Monde en sac à dos. Nous avons également réalisé un tour d'Europe en famille.
Nos articles complémentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.